HomeAboutPeopleReviewersSubglobal Round 2 Reviewers

Subglobal Reviewers (Round 2)

On this page: Governments | MA Affiliated Scientific Organizations | Experts and Public Reviewers

The Millennium Ecosystem Assessment Board of Review Editors wishes to thank the following governments, individuals, and organizations that contributed peer review comments on the second drafts of the MA Sub-Global Assessment Reports between October and December 2004.



  • Maria Esther Bondanza, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores


  • Issa Aliyev, Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources


  • Ole Hendrickson, Biodiversity Convention Office, CBD National Focal Point, Environment Canada

Czech Republic

  • Jana Brozova, Ministry of the Environment


  • Fouda Moustafa, Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency


  • H. Jochen de Haas, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety
  • Marianne Feldmann, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety


  • Wan Azizah Wan Jaafar, Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry


  • Jose Manuel Bulas Montoro, Secretaría del Medio Ambiente y Recursos Naturales


  • Rebecca Loustau-Lalanne, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources


  • Lena Chan, National Parks Board


  • Wanee Samphantharak, Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment

MA Affiliated Scientific Organization Reviewers

The Royal Society, United Kingdom

  • Richard Heap, The Royal Society

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Sweden

  • Dick Hedberg, Swedish Academy of Science
  • Ulf Sporrong, Swedish Academy of Science

Experts and Public Reviewers

  • Anonymous (5)
  • Angela Andrade, Commission on Ecosystem Management, Colombia
  • Zainal Arifin, Research Centre for Oceanography, Indonesia
  • Tsetseg Baljinova, Mongolia Academy of Sciences, Mongolia
  • Edmundo Barrios, Centro Internacional de Agricultura Tropical (CIAT), Colombia
  • Alpina Begossi, UniversidadeEstadual deCampinas (UNICAM), Brazil
  • Reinette (Oonsie) Biggs, CSIR Environmentek, South Africa
  • David Bilenca, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Mexico
  • Vladimir Bocharnikov, Russian CHM Focal Point, Russian Federation
  • Gianfranco Bologna, World Wildlife Fund-Italy (WWF), Italy
  • Victor Brovkin, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany   
  • Andres Camano Moreno, Gerente de Asuntos Ambientales Minera Escondida Limitada, Chile
  • Fabricio Carbonell, Association IXA CA VAA for Indigenious Development and Information, Costa Rica
  • David Cash, Massachusetts Executive Office of Environmental Affairs, United States
  • Raban Chanda, University of Botswana, Botswana
  • Kanchan Chopra, Institute of Economic Growth, University Enclave, India
  • Ulisses Confalonieri, National School of Public Health, Brazil
  • Angela Cropper, The Cropper Foundation, Fernandez Industrial Centre, Trinidad & Tobago
  • Carlo Custodio, Protected Areas and Wildlife Bureau, Philippines
  • Owen Cylke, World Wildlife Fund (WWF), United States
  • Iain Davidson-Hunt, Natural Resources Institute, Canada
  • Ronnie de Camino, University for Peace, Costa Rica
  • Salif Diop, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Kenya
  • Tiago Domingos, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
  • Tamer Elshayal, The Center for the Documentation of the Cultural and Natural Heritage (CultNat), Natural Heritage Documentation, Egypt
  • Alvaro Fernandez, University of Costa Rica, Costa Rica
  • Colin Filer, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, The Australian National University, Australia
  • Marc Foggin, Plateau Perspectives, Canada
  • James Fox, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, The Australian National University, Australia
  • Eduardo R. Fuentes, Consultor Biodiversidad y Desarrollo, Chile
  • Rodrigo Gamez, Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad, Costa Rica
  • Sandy Gauntlett, UNITEC in Maori Environmental Resource Management, New Zealand
  • Utkarsh Ghate, Foundation for Revitalisation of Local Health Traditions (FRLHT), India
  • Thomas Hahn, Centre for Transdisciplinary Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Hamisai Hamandawana, University of Botswana, Botswana
  • Geoffrey Hay, University of Montreal, Canada
  • Daming He, Asian International Rivers Center, Yunnan University, China
  • Brooke Parry Hecht, Center for Humans and Nature, United States
  • Ahmad K. Hegazy, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Jorge Ishizawa, Proyecto Andino de Tecnologias Campesinas (PRATEC), Peru
  • John Kohut III, BT Farm, United States
  • Patricia Lankao, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, UAM-Xochimilco, Mexico
  • Guillermo Rudas Lleras, Universidad Javeriana, Colombia
  • Alejandro Lopez-Feldman, University of California - Davis, United States
  • Shiming Ma, Institute of Agro-meteorology, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), China
  • Michael MacCracken, Climate Institute, United States
  • Ben Malayang, University of the Philippines Los Banos, Philippines
  • Anatoliy F. Mandych, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
  • Peter Marcotullio, United Nations University, Japan
  • Victor Marin, Universidad de Chile, Chile
  • Niklas Mattson, Mekong River Commission/LARReC, Lao PDR
  • Nick Menzies, Sierra Institute for Community and Environment, United States
  • Clark Miller, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
  • Bedrich Moldan, Environmental Center, Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Karen O'Brien, CICERO, University of Oslo, Norway
  • John Ogden, Florida Institute of Oceanography, United States
  • Edmund Oh, The WorldFish Center, Malaysia
  • Jacob Opadeyi, Engineering Institute, The University of the West Indies, Trinidad & Tobago
  • Chris Paci, Dene Nation, Canada
  • Anastassios Perdicoulis, University of Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro, Portugal
  • Garry Peterson, McGill University, Canada
  • John Polimeni, Albany College of Pharmacy, United States
  • Raluca Iorgulescu Polimeni, Siena College, United States
  • Dominique Richard, European Topic Centre on Nature Protection and Biodiversity, France
  • Dale Rothman, The Macaulay Institute, United Kingdom
  • Julia Roxana, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, United States
  • Guillermo Rudas-Lleras, Javeriana University, Colombia
  • Uriel Safriel, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, United States
  • Henk van Schaik, Cooperative Programme Water and Climate, The Netherlands
  • Bob Scholes, Council for Science and Industrial Research, South Africa
  • Lisen Schultz, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Ronaldo Seroa Da Motta, IPEA (Research Institute for Applied Economics), Brazil
  • Linda Starke, Editor, United States
  • Roger Street, Environment Canada, Canada
  • Salah Tahoun, University of El-Zagazig, Egypt
  • Alan Thomson, Canadian Forest Service, Natural Resources Canada, Canada
  • Moya Toti, University of the Philippines Los Banos, Philippines
  • Dan Tunstall, World Resources Institute, United States
  • Rodrigo Moraes Victor, Instituto Florestal de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Ernesto Viglizzo, INTA (National Institute for Agricultural Technology), Argentina
  • Hassan Virji, International START Secretariat, United States
  • Maria Cecilia Wey de Brito, Instituto Florestal de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Tom Wilbanks, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States
  • Dirk Zeller, University of British Columbia, Canada
© 2005 Millennium Ecosystem Assessment